About Me

My photo
I'm Alison, a thirty-something, married, mother of two girls, with a passion for animals of all kinds. My family adopted our goofy, lovable dog {Charlie} from a local shelter. It breaks my heart to know there are countless animals out there being mistreated {to say the least} and I would love more than anything to help even one animal find a loving forever home. Think adoption first. Find a local animal shelter or animal rescue... don't buy your next pet... rescue him/her!

Saturday, April 27, 2013

Getting back to me...

Well, now that things have settled down and I am pretty much back to normal, I thought I'd share a bit more about me and my family.  : )  We live in sunny Southern California and are very thankful for the wonderful weather and outdoor activities we enjoy here pretty much year round.  I am married to my best friend, S, and we have two beautiful little princesses of our own, B & O, who are 6 1/2 and 5.  We love to go camping, usually to the beach in the summer and the desert in the winter- and then some parks and campgrounds here and there through out the year as well.  We also love to take the boat out to the lake on nice spring, summer, and, heck- even fall days (it is So. Cal. after all)!  Our girls are girly, for sure, and love to dress up and play with make up (I wonder where they get that?) but don't mind getting dirty and running around out side, too.  We have a lovable pit bull/great dane mix dog, C, who we adopted from a local shelter, and we are possibly looking for a brother or sister for him.  We also have chickens... 12 hens at the moment, that provide us with fresh eggs and the occasional entertainment watching them run around the front yard just being chickens.  The dog and the chickens have not met... nor will they ever... I don't think it would end well for the chickens.  ; )  Luckily we have plenty of room for the dog and chickens to have their own space.
Now I thought I'd share some pictures of my family!

 Here we are on a camping trip to the desert.

B, age 4 (she's now 6 1/2!)

O, age 2 (she's now 5!)

C, our 4-legged baby

Can't leave the girls out, here are some of our chickens.  : )

Crazy O & B (ages 5 and 6 1/2)

Me and S  <3

Thanks for stopping by!


  1. What a beautiful family and a wonderful life. My partner and I are thinking of moving to SoCal from the freezing Midwest. Boating in the fall sounds nice. It's nearly impossible here!

    1. We are definitely spoiled in the weather department around here! For our love of the outdoors, with camping and boating at the top of our list, we couldn't live in a better place (in my biased opinion, lol). Although, I've never lived anywhere else to compare it to... my husband has and he says he doesn't ever want to go back! ; )